News Archive


New Associate Members:

We are delighted to welcome four new Associate members to the Institute:

Maria C  Maria Charalambides, Imperilal College, London

Ian F  Ian Frigaard, UBC, Canada

Sean M  Sean McKee, Strathclyde University

Manilio T  Manilio Tassieri, University of Glasgow



Jon Hutton for website

John Hutton (1924 - 2015)

It is with great sadness that we heard of the death of John Hutton on the 27th February 2015. 

John was born in was born in September, 1924 and so had reached the ripe old age of 90. He worked for Shell at their Thornton Research Centre for all his working life and was a good friend to the Institute. It was his close links with Aberystwyth that led to the research grants awarded to the rheology research group at the University by Shell. John collaborated with Ken Walters and Howard Barnes on the 1989 book "Introduction to Rheology", one that has sold over 6000 copies and is still selling. Many of us will remember John as a geniel travel companion to many international rheology meetings. Over the past few years, John was a regular attendee at Institute meetings and was elected to Associate Membership just last year. He will be sadly missed.


New Appointment

We offer hearty congratulations to Institute member Simon Cox on his appointment as Head of the new Department of Mathematics at Aberystwyth University. The Department has been reinstated as a separate entity having been part, for some years, of a joint department with Physics.


LV KenThe recent INNFM meeting at Lake Vyrnwy was a time for celebration as our Chairman, Ken Walters, approaches his eightieth birthday. Numerous tributes were paid to him during the lectures and in the after dinner speeches. Delegates spoke of his huge contribution over the years to the field of rheology, not just in terms of the wide range of leading research work that he and his team at Aberystwyth carried out, but also the leadership that he has given in developing new initiatives in the field such as the Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics and the establishment of the European Society of Rheology. Many said how much they valued his friendship and the help and guidance Ken had given them.

LV Cake

Celebration must have a celebration cake, of course, and meeting organiser Rhodri Williams and his wife Sharon, didn't disappoint. At the conference dinner they produced a magnificent cake, hand crafted by Sharon herself.












British Society of Rheology Annual Award.

Small TimThe Institute is delighted that its Treasurer, Professor Tim Phillips, has been awarded the British Society of Rheology Annual Award for 2012. The award was given for Tim's outstanding contribution to the field of Rheology and for his long standing service to the Society. He is pictured here with the BSR President, Dr Bill Frith, who present Tim with the award at the Institute's Chicheley Hall conference.

Tim is Professor of Mathematics at Cardiff University and Membership Secretary of the British Society of Rheology. 

Bingham Medal

McKinleyCongratulations were in order at the Conference dinner at our 1013 meeting at the Kavli Royal Society International Centre at Chicheley Hall in Buckinghamshire where it was announced by the President of the Society of Rheology, Professor Jefferey Giacomin, that one of the conference delegates, Professor Gareth McKinley, was to be awarded the Bingham Medal of the Society. Gareth is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He is an Associate Member of the INNFM..

The Bingham Medal is an award for outstanding contributions to the field of rheology. It was instituted in 1948 by the Society of Rheology, commemorating Eugene C. Bingham (1878 -1948)

Learned Society

We congratulate two of our members, Phil Bowen and Simon Cox, on their election as Fellows of the Learned Society of Wales. More information on the Society may be found at their website.

 New Responsibilities

Congratulations to Tim Phillips, our Treasurer, as he takes on the Headship of the Mathematics Department at Cardiff. He replaces Russell Davies, another of our members, who is retiring at the end of the year.


New Appointment

We offer hearty congratulations to Institute member Phil Bowen on his appointment as Director of the School of Engineering at Cardiff University. This is a large School with over 300 staff.

New Associate Members

The Institute is delighted to welcome Marcel Crochet and John Dealy as new Associate Members of the Institute. 

International Congress, Lisbon

Three of the INNFM Associate Members (Professor J.Maia, Professor C.Gallegos and Professor I.Emri) were the organisers of the successful 16th International  Congress on Rheology, which took place in Lisbon, Portugal in August 2012, with a record attendance of 961 participants. In addition, three of the six Plenary Lecturers at the Congress were also Associate Members of the INNFM (Professor Gareth McKinley, Professor Paula Moldenairs and Professor Gerry Fuller).

One of the Congress Symposia was entitled the “ Professor Walters Commemorative Symposium”, which honoured the INNFM Chairman and contained 23 lectures by distinguished rheologists. This Symposium was organised by Professor Joao Maia and Dr David Binding.

Learned Society

 We congratulate our Treasurer, Tim Phillips on his election as a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales. More information on the Society may be found at their website.


Honorary Degree

Scotland ceremony In 2011, our Chairman, Ken Walters, received an Honorary D.Sc. degree from Strathclyde University. His Presenter was Sean McKee of the Strathclyde Mathematics Department, who has collaborated with Ken in recent years on some computational problems in Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics. This is the second Honorary D.Sc. degree awarded to Ken, for in 1998, he received a similar award from the Joseph Fourier University of Grenoble, France.